2010 Wade Trophy Finalists Announced

The 12 finalists for the 2010 Wade Trophy, the “Heisman” of women’s basketball, were announced today by the State Farm Wade Trophy Committee in conjunction with the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

“This is definitely a time of year that I look forward to annually as I get to announce the 12 finalists for The State Farm Wade Trophy,” said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. “The prestige of this award goes without saying, and I can only imagine how excited these 12 student-athletes are to be on this list. We wish them the best of luck in the remainder of their seasons.”

The short list includes last year’s winner, Maya Moore of Connecticut, as well as her teammate, Tina Charles. Ohio State (Jantel Lavender, Samantha Prahalis) and Stanford (Jayne Appel, Nnemkadi Ogwumike) also had two players apiece on the list of finalists.

The complete list of 12 finalists includes:

2010 State Farm Wade Trophy Finalists
Player School Position Class
Jayne Appel Stanford Center Senior
Tina Charles Connecticut Center Senior
Alysha Clark Middle Tennessee State Forward Senior
Kelsey Griffin Nebraska Guard Senior
Jantel Lavender Ohio State University Center Junior
Maya Moore Connecticut Forward Junior
Nnemkadi Ogwumike Stanford Forward Sophomore
Samantha Prahalis Ohio State University Guard Sophomore
Danielle Robinson Oklahoma Guard Junior
Jasmine Thomas Duke Guard Junior
Courtney Vandersloot Gonzaga Guard Junior
Monica Wright Virginia Guard Senior

Leave a Reply